Get involved in deciding the future of TEK!

News article

Elections will be held in March 2020 to elect TEK's General Council. The nomination for candidates begins on 1 January 2020, get involved and stand for election!

Directly elected by the members every three years, the General Council is TEK’s sovereign policymaking body. Elections will be held in March 2020 to elect the General Council for a term of office from 2020 to 2023. The General Council comprises 70 elected members, with 66 elected from Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland and 4 elected from the Finnish Swedish Association of Graduate Engineers (TFiF).

Nomination for candidates 1 January – 5 February 2020
Election engine open 11 – 30 March 2020
Voting 17 – 30 March 2020
Election results announced 7 April 2020

The role of the General Council  

The General Council decides how TEK will defend the interests of its members, what kind of member services it will provide, and how the profession will influence society as a whole.

The General Council elects the Executive Council of TEK, and determines certain financial matters such as the membership fees. Working on the General Council provides an overview of the labour market and access to a broad network of members. The General Council usually meets twice annually.

Who is eligible to vote and stand for election?

All regular members and honorary members of Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland (TEK), and ordinary members of the Finnish Swedish Association of Graduate Engineers (TFiF) who belong to TEK, will be eligible to vote and to stand as candidates for election if their membership has been approved latest on 1 January 2020.

You may stand as a candidate for election to the TEK General Council in any electoral district, regardless of your place of residence, but you may only cast your vote in the district where you live.

Southern electoral district: Uusimaa (32 seats)
Western electoral district: Åland, Southern Ostrobothnia, Kanta-Häme, Central Ostrobothnia, Central Finland, Tampere Region, Ostrobothnia, Päijät-Häme, Satakunta and Southwest Finland (21 seats)
Eastern electoral district: South Karelia, South Savo, Kymenlaakso, North Karelia and North Savo (6 seats)
Northern electoral district: Kainuu, Lapland and Northern Ostrobothnia (7 seats)
The TFiF electoral district covers the whole of Finland (4 seats)

How do I stand as a candidate?

The easiest way to get involved is by contacting one of the current General Council factions or by establishing your own electoral alliance. More detailed information is available at You can also contact election committee secretary Daniel Valtakari for further details.

Visit (in Finnish) to see the members currently serving on the General Council, the Executive Council and the committees of TEK.

Still have questions? Ask the current delegates!  

iTyö: Jari Nummikoski,, +358 40 527 4614
Keskusta: Esa Pajala,, +358 50 432 7217
Kokoomus: Elina Wanne,, +358 50 517 1171
Sosialidemokraatit: Sami Lehtonen,, +358 40 053 0744
TEKin Nuoret: Juho Salmi,, +358 40 537 7012
Vihreät: Aino-Kaisa Manninen,, +358 40 568 9426
Yhtenäinen TEK ja Teekkarihenki: Elina Honkala,, +358 40 861 4358

TFiFarna (TFiF-TEK members): Kimmo Leveelahti,, +358 40 555 5544

Election site provides more information

The election site contains comprehensive information both for candidates and voters. Find out more at

For further details of upcoming elections, please e-mail or contact election committee secretary Daniel Valtakari,