Technology for Climate

Big thanks to everyone for attending!

Technology for Climate was an event full of learning and getting inspired on how each and everyone of us can make more climate friendly choises in our career in technology sector. The event was held at Aalto University Undergraduate Centre, Otakaari 1 on Friday 27th September from 12.30 to 20.00. 

You can still enjoy the seminar by watching the stream recording and checking the presentation slides! This event is for you whether you wish to tune your current position or make more radical career moves. The event also wishes to provide a chance to support school strikes for climate as the school strikers have invited everyone to join them in striking for climate on the day of the event.

Get to know all of the great speakers below,

rewatch THE STREAM




Jussi-Pekka Teini is working on Engineering Sustainability at Tekniikan akateemiset TEK.

Elias Herva is creating smarter cities by working as a Specialist at Helen.

Matti Kinnunen is an ICT professional working as a Systems Architect.

Heikki Liimatainen is a Associate Professor at Tampere University and a member of Ilmastopaneeli.

Janne Kärki is one of the founders of an emission compensation platform CO2esto and also working as a Senior Scientist at VTT.
More info on CO2esto:


Jonna Rönn is a high school student in Otaniemen lukio and has been active in the School Strike climate activism movement #FridaysForFuture.

Sanna Perkiö is a former Member of Parliament and the founder of Ecobio company where she currently works at.

Atte Harjanne is a Member of Parliament with a strong background on climate research working as a researcher and a doctoral candidate in Finnish Meteorological Institute.
More info on Atte:

Mikko Muukki is an Expert in Imaging and Video Technology at Huawei Technologies and an active member of the Finnish Ecomodernist Society.

Rauli Partanen is one of the founding members of Finnish Ecomodernist Society and an award-winning science and non-fiction writer.


Mariko Landström is a Specialist on Climate Solutions working at Sitra.

Tuuli Miinalainen is a University of Estern Finland PhD student on Aerosol physics research group.

Maija Leino is one of the founders and CEO of UseLess Company aiming to reduce spending and increase impact investing.

John Bairoh has founded his own company SmartHybrid Energy aming to reduce energy poverty in Sub-Saharan Africa.


Matti Pärssinen has recently completed his Doctoral thesis on Sustainable data centers and ICT services and is working as Head of Telia One Service Management Office at Telia.
Juho Laaksonen is the Managing Director at Dynamic Structures Association Finland.


Ville Nikkanen is a Research Scientist at VTT working on thermodynamical conversions.

Ville Tulkki is a Research Team Leader of Reactor Analysis team at VTT

Heidi Uimonen is an Electricity Market Specialist creating a clean, smart and efficient power system working at Fingrid.